Taking responsibility and raising awareness

The Tschuggen Collection is the first Swiss premium hotel group to bring effective climate protection measures and exceptional standards of hotel management under one roof. Our prized locations amidst spectacular natural beauty serve as a daily reminder of our firmly-held belief: that protecting the environment is the most important challenge of our time.

Valsana
One of Switzerland’s most sustainable hotels - Valsana Hotel Arosa

Built in 2017, the Valsana boasts a completely CO2-neutral building infrastructure that is heated and operated entirely without fossil (or other) fuels thanks to an ice battery based on geothermal energy and heat recovery at 1,800 metres above sea level.

2 - Emissionen
Minimising emissions

Thanks to innovative energy concepts, heat recovery systems, thermal insulation and consumption optimization, a reduction of more than 60% of the Tschuggen Collection's total fossil fuel consumption has already been achieved over the last 10 years. In addition, all electricity is 100% eco-certified.

DSC08562
Target 2025: Ban of fossil fuels

The new energy system with lake water pumps for the Hotel Eden Roc is expected to achieve a further 20% of the total savings in fossil fuels. The aim is to almost completely dispense with fossil fuels by 2025.
This will be followed by an energy concept with a photovoltaic façade for the Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

3 - Klimaschutzprojekte
Financing climate protection projects

By financing climate protection projects even beyond the level of calculated residual emissions, the Tschuggen Collection also takes responsibility for the parts of its ecological footprint that cannot yet be reduced.

Group 134
Rewilding

Intact moorlands represent some of the most efficient CO2 reservoirs on earth. The Tschuggen Collection therefore finances the renaturation of drained moorlands throughout Switzerland, thereby supporting efficient climate protection and the promotion of biodiversity.

The Tschuggen Collection | Bos-Cha Renaturierung Engadin
Rewilding – Projects to date

Projects to date:
2019: Rewilding of a raised bog of national importance in the Tourbières de Ponts-de-Martel nature reserve in the canton of Neuchâtel
2022: Rewilding of the Bos-cha lowland moor in the Lower Engadin
2023: Rewilding of the Palü Lunga lowland moor in the Lower Engadin (under implementation)

5 - Zertifizierung
Green Globe Certification

All four hotels of the Tschuggen Collection have been certified with the globally recognised Green Globe label since 2021. The Green Globe label of quality is awarded to tourism and events companies whose activities are geared towards the respectful and economical use of resources.

6 - Massnahmen
What else we’re doing

With the help of well thought-out offers, efforts are being made to positively influence the ecological footprint. Further measures to reduce emissions include attention to optimized circulation management during renovation work and new purchases as well as ongoing training for all employees.

7 - Ausgleich Reise
Joining forces to protect the climate

The CO2 footprint caused by travelling to and from our hotels can be offset by guests directly on site. The corresponding amount is calculated jointly and is donated in full directly to myclimate for the project to finance efficient cookers in Kenya.

power by ice

Valsana’s game changing ice battery

When building the Valsana Hotel in Arosa, we created a hotel for the future. A hotel with sustainability at its core that is powered entirely without fossil fuels. How did we do it? By using geothermal energy and an ice battery that heats the entire complex.

More information on our sustainability initiatives and activities

Visit us on Instagram

Verantwortung übernehmen und Bewusstsein schaffen

Die Tschuggen Collection ist die erste Schweizer Premium-Hotelgruppe, die effektiven Klimaschutz mit den höchsten Standards in der Hotellerie verbindet. Durch die Standorte inmitten beeindruckender Naturkulissen inspiriert, teilt man die Überzeugung, dass der Klimawandel und der Schutz der Umwelt die wichtigsten Herausforderungen der heutigen Zeit darstellen.

Valsana
Eines der nachhaltigsten Hotels der Schweiz - Valsana Hotel Arosa

Seit 2017 verfügt das Valsana Hotel über eine komplett CO2 neutrale Gebäudeinfrastruktur, welche dank einem eigenen Eisspeicher durch Geothermie und Wärmerückgewinnung auf 1800 m. ü. M. komplett ohne fossile (oder sonstige) Brennstoffe beheizt und betrieben wird.

2 - Emissionen
Minimierung der eigenen Emissionen

Dank neuartigen Energiekonzepten, Wärmerückgewinnungssystemen, Wärmedämmungen und Verbrauchsoptimierungen, konnte innerhalb der letzten 10 Jahre bereits eine Reduktion von mehr als 60% des gesamten fossilen Brennstoffverbrauchs der Tschuggen Collection erreicht werden. Sämtlicher Strom ist zudem 100% öközertifiziert.

DSC08562
Ziel 2025: Verzicht auf fossile Brennstoffe

Weitere 20% der Gesamteinsparungen an fossilen Brennstoffen wird durch das neue Energiesystem mit See- und Grundwasser für das Hotel Eden Roc erreicht. Ziel ist es bis 2025 beinahe gänzlich auf fossile Brennstoffe zu verzichten.
Darauf folgt ein Energiekonzept mit Fotovoltaik-Fassade für das Tschuggen Grand Hotel.

3 - Klimaschutzprojekte
Finanzierung von Klimaschutzprojekten

Mit der Finanzierung von Klimaschutzprojekten selbst über die Höhe der berechneten Restemissionen hinaus, übernimmt die Tschuggen Collection auch für die Teile ihres ökologischen Fussabdrucks Verantwortung, welche bis zum jetzigen Zeitpunkt noch nicht eingespart werden können.

Group 134
Renaturierung

Intakte Moorlandschaften gehören zu den effizientesten CO2-Speicher der Welt. Die Tschuggen Collection finanziert daher schweizweit Renaturierungen von trockengelegten Moorlandschaften und unterstützt so effizienten Klimaschutz sowie die Förderung der Biodiversität.

The Tschuggen Collection | Bos-Cha Rewilding Engadin
Renaturierung – Bisherige Projekte

Bisherige Projekte:
2019 Hochmoor von nationaler Bedeutung im Naturschutzgebiet Tourbières de Ponts-de-Martel, Kanton Neuenburg
2022 Flachmoor von Bos-cha bei Guarda, Unterengadin
2023 Flachmoor Palü Lunga, Unterengadin (in Umsetzung)

5 - Zertifizierung
Green Globe Zertifizierung

Seit 2021 sind alle vier Häuser der Tschuggen Collection mit dem weltweit anerkannten Green Globe Standard zertifiziert. Green Globe wird an Unternehmen der Tourismus- und Eventbranche verliehen, deren unternehmerisches Handeln auf einen respektvollen und sparsamen Umgang mit Ressourcen abzielt.

6 - Massnahmen
Zusätzliche unterstützende Massnahmen

Mithilfe von durchdachten Angeboten wird versucht den ökologischen Fussabdruck positiv zu beeinflussen. Weitere Massnahmen der Emissionsreduktion sind Achtung einer optimierten Kreislaufwirtschaft bei Renovierungsarbeiten und Neuanschaffungen sowie fotwährende Schulungen sämtlicher Mitarbeitenden.

7 - Ausgleich Reise
Mit vereinten Kräften zum Schutz des Klimas

Der durch die eigene An- und Abreise ausgelöste CO2-Fussabdruck kann von Gästen direkt vor Ort ausgeglichen werden. Der entsprechende Betrag wird gemeinsam berechnet und geht zu 100% direkt an myclimate für das Projekt zur Finanzierung effizienter Kocher in Kenia.

power by ice

Valsanas bahnbrechender Eisspeicher

Mit dem Bau des Valsana haben wir ein Hotel für die Zukunft geschaffen. Ein Hotel, das Nachhaltigkeit in den Mittelpunkt stellt und praktisch keine CO2-Emissionen verursacht. Wie wir das geschafft haben? Durch den Einsatz einer Eisbatterie, die das gesamte Gebäude beheizt, ohne dass sie fossile Brennstoffe benötigt.

Mehr Informationen über unsere Nachhaltigkeitsprojekte und -bestrebungen

Folgen Sie uns auf Instagram